Hi, my name is Trash.

At 3:16 today I had a sudden overwhelming urge to create something. I find that I have a lot of little things sitting around that could be labeled as junk or clutter, but it’s time for some of those things to have a new purpose. I only have a little paint, no canvas or useful item to paint, no fabric to sew and no supplies to re-master my knickknacks. But I am determined by the end of the day to create something– which is going to mean a trip to Home Depot or Michael’s…

Fear not, all my rambling about creating something does lead to a point-

Challenge of the Day-

  • Create something today, or try something new. Or remodel an item that is just lying around collecting dust. Give it a new purpose.

I believe in you. I am going to go make something of my own and I will be sure to update with pictures later on.

So, I was not completely successful in my challenge- but that’s fine. I started working on some shutters I got last summer, I’m slowly turning them into a scarf rack… we’ll see how that turns out.

I’d like to name them Amelia and Deb. They are going to be a fabulous addition to my home someday soon.

I grabbed some supplies from good old Home Depot, I’m fairly certain the girl at the paint counter thinks I’m crazy- she has helped me each time I’ve gone in there having no idea what I’m doing and asking all sorts of ridiculous questions so I can complete whatever vision I have in my mind.

Supplies in hand, I exited the store with all sorts of excitement. That is, until I gashed finger open trying to open the can of stripper. One bloody finger, a screwdriver, a straight razor and plenty of frustration later I lathered Amelia up with some paint remover and waited patiently.

And here is where I’m at. And may stay for a day or two for numerous reasons…

  1. It was freezing outside, I’m positive I broke a finger off.
  2. Amelia has way too many coats of paint on.
  3. I’m slightly over-ambitious… and surprisingly, it is unnecessarily hard to scrape paint off of slats.

One day though, Amelia and Deb will have a classy new coat of paint on. I got a dark flat charcoal gray color for a base and then a mustard yellow eggshell that I am going to apply sparingly over the gray. They have great potential.

Stay sassy.

4 thoughts on “Hi, my name is Trash.

  1. Does taking down the Christmas tree and redoing the living room count as being creative?? Can’t wait to see what your creative juices produce :)

Leave a Reply

