50/50

“Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence and fulfills the duty to express the results of his thoughts in clear form.” -Albert Einstein

I flipped a coin today about a decision I need to make and I discovered something interesting… it really didn’t matter what side it landed on, or even the fact that I was leaving the decision to a 50/50 chance. What mattered is that during that small moment when the coin was suspended in the air- I knew. I knew EXACTLY which side I wanted it to land on, and which decision I obviously wanted to make.

There are few moments or pure clarity in life, we cloud our decisions with “what if”s and could’s, should’s and would’s, it creates a world of gray and blurry indecision. So what do we do? We leave it to chance, we ask advice, we think it through (or not, depending on how much you really don’t want to actually make the right decision) we do everything we can to find the “right” answer… when in reality- we just need a moment of clarity sometimes.

Suzanne sent me the quote above when I was in the midst of a lot of gray. One way or another a decision was going to be made and it seemed like a double-edged sword, with neither side any better than the other. I found that in the moment of clarity- when the decision had been made, I knew that’s what I had wanted all along. Even though what “could have been” seemed so great and so right, I found myself shying away from it. I don’t want to be labeled as mediocre… I want to be in the first group- one of the people marked with a great spirit. Yet, it’s so easy to let prejudice, fear, doubt and pride cloud our minds and bar us from expressing ourselves (whether in word or in action) with great clarity.

Don’t live and direct the steps of your life by letting coins and mediocre minds have the determination of what’s good and right. Live your life with clarity and with a clear understanding of which direction the Lord is leading…

“walk in faith, nothing wavering”

Don’t be tossed by indecision and regret.

Continue to step forward.

With great clarity.

Disclaimer- This may not make any sense…. I’m still working on that clarity thing.

One thought on “50/50

  1. WoW!
    This is something we are all working on, often second guessing our decisions. Sad when all we need to do is call on the One who can give us the peace that we need, who closes doors and opens windows bathing us in the beauty of His love for us.

Leave a Reply

