The Challenging Road

Ticket is purchased.

Packing list is ever-growing.

Nerves are in full force.

This coming year is swinging in swiftly. Boarding a plane in NY, landing in Guatemala City, before I know it, there will be no turning back and no time for regret.

The wonderful thing about that though, is that I’m fully convinced that making decisions and following them with the full intent of your heart will leave little room for regret. 

Long talks late into the night happened over Thanksgiving, with the dearest of friends. Looking back at the wisdom shared, the fears exposed, and the love extended, I’m fully assured that the blessings to be reaped from this season are going to be much more than expected.

Eddie said, “You start making a plan. We constantly pray for the Lord to guide us, to show us what the plan is, when that isn’t necessarily what we should be doing. Proverbs says “Commit your work to the Lord and your plans will be established.” What we should do, is make a plan and then trust that the Lord does what is true to His nature and guides us in our steps.”

It makes sense to me.

I’m glad to know that there’s no grand scheme regarding each step. That if I make a decision and start a plan for the next stage of my life, God doesn’t go… “Oh, wait. This is not right, you need to change what you are doing. I can’t work with this.” There is room for missteps and the allowance of a gracious God to use those for his glory.

He can always work with “this”.

My current “this”? Jumping into a year of overseas living, serving with an organization that I love and believe in, and pursuing what I believe is the best way I can glorify Him in the here and now.

It’s a challenging road, I won’t lie.

Fear, doubt, whispers… they assail you. Attacks from the pit of hell.

Yet, there is always encouragement-

“…this is why I’m confident that God is taking you somewhere special. Somewhere with the people He loves the most- people who need someone to believe in them.”

“This next year will be exhilarating, heartbreaking, sweaty, joyful, challenging, and spectacular. I am praying that you are right in step with God’s will every moment.”

Always encouragement… and I’m reminded, I’m stepping into this journey with my community.

The challenging road continues to wind. 

If you’re interested in being a tangible part of my journey, I have another $12,000 to raise.

Gulp.

I made a little fundraising page, complete with fun perks… like, coffee, postcards, and skype dates. |Link below|

Journey to Guatemala

I love you all… and I can’t wait to take you along for the ride.

rescue

Leave a Reply

