State of Being

I moved to a different country.

Sometimes, I truly do not realize that.

Hope of Life is like another home to me, a place I love and feel comfortable at… so at times I have this illusion that I’ve just moved a few hours or a few states away from home.

It’s so not the case.

Trying to balance cultural differences, language barriers, and new relationships is a challenge in a league of it’s own.

I find that I’m praying against an anxious heart, a lot.

Not because I have anxiety about being here, or that I fear this is not the place I’m supposed to be, and not even because it’s not where I want to be… because, truly, I want to be here.

But simply because uprooting, it’s hard.

These first few weeks at Hope of Life have been challenging, exciting, painful, and satisfying- all at once. Even within the first week, there were battles. Each week I’m learning more, growing more, and developing deeper relationships.

The physical, emotional, and mental exhaustion I have been experiencing is difficult, but I wouldn’t trade the worst days here for wonderful days anywhere else.

It’s a new and exciting feeling, the peace and satisfaction in the Lord that comes with knowing you are exactly where the Lord has been preparing to be.

As I left a few weeks ago, I started a book in the airport called “Love Does” by Bob Goff, he shares a perspective that has been a launching point for my year-

“…we need to land the plane on our plans to make a difference by getting to the “do” part of faith. That’s because love is never stationary. In the end, love doesn’t just keep thinking about it, or planning for it. Simply put: love does.”

This is how I’m trying to live each day: taking action with my love towards others… living out my faith in love.

1 Thess 2:8 “Because we loved you so much, we were delighted to share with you not only the Gospel but our lives as well”

3a

One thought on “State of Being

  1. Pingback: Weekend Reading

Leave a Reply

